Why I no longer support Anonymous

Maybe I don’t need any words of explanation at all, just the following image.

 

anonymous

 

This is what makes having friends of various political slants so challenging. I was exceptionally offended by this image, comparing those who gave their lives for their country to a group of criminals, in fact in the accompanying text the hackers of Anonymous were lionized as “true heroes,” the men and women who died in Vietnam were described as being “duped into going,” and lacking “the courage to stand against it.”

I knew people whose names are on that wall. I knew people whose names are on other walls. There is no comparison to people whose pictures are on the Post Office wall, although I’ve known a few of them as well.

 

250px-EdwardleehowardWantedPoster

 

I even have a copy of Lee’s poster, which at one time I had dreamed of getting autographed. Unfortunately he outlived his usefulness and was “retired” by the SVR. No one trusts a traitor. Except “Anonymous,” a misguided group of clueless idealists who believe anything that contradicts authority represents “truth.” One truth is “loose lips sink ships,” ships containing human beings. Another truth is “In order to be an idealist, you must have an idea.”

I suppose the big picture, the reason behind no longer supporting Anonymous or many of the plethora of anarchist groups out there, is because they are not anarchists. The definition “absence of government and absolute freedom of the individual, regarded as a political ideal” has been discarded (maybe because it was written by those in authority?), replaced by an ultra authoritarian philosophy. “Defy the current authority and do precisely what I say” has become the anarchists creed.

If one truly believes in personal freedom, how can they take this view? If one truly believes in freedom of expression, allowing the existence of other points of view would appear to be the the very first commandment. As it is, I face routine discrimination from my anarchist friends, racial slurs and negative stereotypes are applied to me daily. “Racial slurs?” Yep, hate to tell you this folks, but if you truly believed in ending racism you could start by not calling me a “middle aged white guy” in the same tone of voice the people you rail against say “nigger.” Don’t imply I have anything in common with my classmate Andy Fastow while complaining that all police officers judge all black people in the same way. Has it never occurred to you that in making such statements you are revealing you judge people based on a single characteristic, which is what you are complaining police officers and people such as myself do? Am I not your friend because I am different from others of my caste? I’m like these people because I am a middle aged white guy (and of course we are all precisely the same), but we should never judge the black kid hiding in the shadows as being like the other criminals hiding in the shadows? Doesn’t your brain hurt from shifting between forward and reverse without a clutch?

The hypocrisies of Anonymous and 0ther anarchist groups who attempt to align themselves with “The Left” appears to me more egregious than the hypocrisies of alleged “Religious” and “Patriotic” groups that attempt to align themselves with “The Right.” Don’t get me wrong, they all are extremists calling for individuals to participate in a nonexistent “main stream.” The far right groups just don’t camouflage their intents with a false garb of freedom. The extreme right comes right out and says “You should not be allowed to do this,” the extreme left says “You should not be allowed to think this (and I know you already do think this)” while holding banners reading “Freedom” and “Tolerance.”

One person said looters are not protestors, and should be shot on sight. I said I was in partial agreement (still hanging onto the trial by jury concept). The anarchist pops into the conversation with “blah blah blah and so should you idiots!” Thank you, I will take your comment as seriously as you have expressed it.

Freedom requires more than lip service. It requires action, and sometimes blood. Nathan Hale understood this, Edward Snowden does not. Ed, you might want to consider why you feel a country with one of the worst human rights records is a good choice in which to take asylum. You have successfully leapt from the frying pan to the fire. Brilliant display of your superior insights.

As we have seen repeatedly, some people jump on the protest band wagon because they want to raise hell. In doing so, they degrade the effect of a protest movement. It takes time, Watts was in ’65, Boston in 76, and a new generation has allowed peaceful protests to be subverted in Ferguson MO and Baltimore MD in the last year. One lesson I learned fairly early is “The conversation is over when the shooting begins.” The same holds true for burning your neighborhood. If we are going to have a conversation that improves society, we can start as soon as you stop hurting people to get my attention. You have my attention, and all I can see is a rowdy mob bent on destruction. Which ideals are you standing for?

 

Passion is not a substitute for intelligence, neither are the two mutually exclusive. Struggles can only be resolved by integrating the two.

 

 

 

 

 

3 comments on “Why I no longer support Anonymous

  1. Mike R says:

    A stimulating and honest bit of writing. We need much more of this in this nation. I value your ability to point out perspective and opinions. Like you, I don’t fit neatly into categorizes. As a Christian and a libertarian, I have grown though the years. I regularly am misunderstood by anarchists who do not understand my interpretation of the Bible to clearly teach that Christians are to respect authority, even when the government is lousy and corrupt, as ours is. On the other end, so many of my Christian friends are flag-waving nationalists who can’t get enough of war and believe anything that comes out of the mouths of “their” favorite political party. I suppose we all are enigmas, Blake. I support strongly the actions of Ed Snowden, for example.

    As for the riots, and the rising police brutality, there is only one clear answer in my thoughts–end the reason for them. The welfare state has created a dysfunctional society. Those in power, and their presstitutes in the media, will continue to point Americans to token issues. Just like the sham trials that go on regularly in the most brutal governments, designed to focus outrage on this or that example of trouble-makers, all the while successfully diverting the attention from the fact that the system in the problem. As when the right correctly points out the incredible corruption of Hillary Clinton. But their real intent is to imply that THEY are not corrupt. All the while the Congress is thoroughly in the back pockets of the crony capitalists.

    Your writing is rich with good thinking and dialogue. Something lacking in the nation. We need desperately to stop identifying with this or that group or message and talk things out for ourselves.

    As one who objects to our current and recent foreign policy, I am often labeled incorrectly. Labeled as a traitor because I question the intent behind the use of our military. It is then assumed that I am anti-veteran, or against anyone in uniform. Yet most don’t wish to hear my true opinion about war and why I feel the way that I do. Or hear out my true beliefs about the men that have fought and died, or engage in real discussion about reforming veteran’s care, instead of the lip-service constantly given. We need not wait for our government to fix the VA. We can reach to those who have served, personally.

    Without knowing more detail, your view on the military and government authority reminds me of that to Ayn Rand, e.g., that once war is engaged, it is the duty of all to support it. I can respect that view, even though I vary a bit. What I appreciate about your view is that you do not arrive at it by emotion or default, but by reasoning.

    Thank for writing. I’ve been inspired by your posts to write a bit myself on my blog, In This Kingdom. I’m struggling, honestly. I don’t have your natural ability to write. I was impressed by what I derived from your heart–which I interpret (and correct me if I am wrong) as one that wishes to encourage others to think and communicate. Perhaps there is the hope to communicate the importance of hearing out others, without taking things personally. To be wiling to accept that the things that we say may be offensive, hurt, and even jar our listeners. And visa-versa. And most importantly, that we hear out their responses, with a kind heart–a heart more concerned about the person than what they express.

    Writing is turning out to be an interesting experience. It’s really more of my own diary. Sometimes I read something I wrote a few months back and think, “I really didn’t express myself, well.” Or, “I need to explore that issue a lot more–it’s apparent that I am still not clear, even in my own mind.”

    If our society suffers from anything, it is a controlled media serving up half-truths to a population that wants to hear what it wants to hear. I suppose a century of the nanny-state has created a society of those dependent upon government to address every fear that rises within them. All those in power need to do is to misdirect their attention, create the latest bogeyman enemy, or instigate class envy. There was a time when I had more trust in the presence of enough men of integrity in government to hold the line. I’ll admit that I’ve lost that belief. As Bastiat once said, corruption and “plunder” by government officials causes lawlessness among the people. And I fear that corruption has become so pervasive that our government is but a tool of those with the money to buy it. But when I read blogs like yours, I feel a spark of hope. Of course, I also know that as a citizen of the Kingdom of God, my concerns are not to be for creating heaven on earth, but to preach the Gospel and make disciples–citizens of that greater Kingdom that is eternal. A kingdom led by the Prince of Peace.

    Keep on keeping on. Please!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mari Collier says:

    Well written as always, and thank you. I’m quite delighted that you have given up on a group that insulted so many of the young people I know that went to Viet Nam and endured. Of course, I Tweeted.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

