An evening with Buddy

You meet people in the oddest ways. Last year my friend Guy Campo mentioned playing with a guy named Buddy Cash (these are actual names, a guy named Guy and a buddy named Buddy). There aren’t many people out there with my last name, so I initiated a conversation on FaceBook with Buddy, who turns out to be an incredibly talented musician and genuinely nice human being. We met in person at the premiere of a film featuring Buddy (with Guy as well), and found we had many mutual ideas about life.

COVER featuring Buddy Cash

COVER featuring Buddy Cash

This is when I cut my beard, someone had noticed a picture of Buddy and I and asked if I was his father, when in fact Buddy is a few years older than I.

The Cashes

The Cashes

I haven’t had the opportunity to see Buddy play live, that is I haven’t had the time, Buddy plays five or six nights a week at various venues with various lineups. Last night I drove down to Wilmington Delaware to catch his Monday night gig at Gallucio’s with a couple of friends. This gig is called “Open Mike Night,” which turns out to be all requests and the opportunity to get on stage and sing lead vocals in some cases. It was amazing. Not only could the band play anything requested, they played it well enough to be mistaken for the original artists. I don’t mean they sounded like the album version of the song, they had the feel of the artists. When they played a few Led Zeppelin songs, Buddy and Jim sounded like Jonesy and Bonzo. When they played “Something,” Buddy’s bass line sounded more like George Harrison playing bass than Paul McCartney, he totally captured the feel and intent of the music.

The range of songs played would probably be mind numbing to most people. I’m not good at categorizing music, and when people have asked what kind of music Buddy performs I usually say “good.” That word doesn’t fit now that I’ve seen him play, and superlatives are usually dismissed, so I’ll say “Come along and hear for yourself.” I can see myself at Gallucio’s most every Monday night from now on, and Buddy has asked me to see him at Tom and Jerry’s in Milmont Park Pennsylvania a couple of times because he lives nearby and we could hang out at his place with his family and pets (he has five cats and a pig) after the show. I’ll have to to take a Saturday off for that one, the gig is on Friday and I don’t expect to be wide awake at 0500 the next morning. Emma had once been a waitress at Tom and Jerry’s, so there are a couple of reasons the gig is  attractive to me.

COVER’s producer, Kevin McQuiston, has made the film available online for $2.99, I can’t get the link he provided to work for me, but here it is. I’ll need to contact Kevin soon, because I seem to have given away all my copies of the DVDs he was selling at the premiere. When I hear from him I’ll update that link.

One more from last night, if you see me at one of the gigs come over and say hello.

 

 

 

 

6 comments on “An evening with Buddy

  1. So did you trace the family tree to see if you are related? How cool would that be? And I don’t know anyone who doesn’t enjoy Buddy’s talents — both musical and comical! He is the sweetest, down-to-earth, personable/humble guy who deserves to be a snob and isn’t!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kblakecash says:

      We haven’t found the link, but our families originate in the same basic area and have many similarities. A cousin asked if he was a “real” Cash, and I said I’d trade him for my parent’s other son any day, we are brothers in music, and at some level every human is related. My father has always said we have a Native American connection, I believe that is Buddy’s side of the family.

      Like

  2. Mike R says:

    I have a Johnathan Cash in my family tree from the late 1700’s. Some fellow from the area of Ohio. My genealogy attempts were interesting but after I got to 10 generations I realized that we all are related to each other. So many of us do have some Indian. I was able to find an “Acorn Eyes” as one of my great-grandmother to the x power, hailing from the Cherokees and the Trail of Tears. There were others who had taken up English names, as did her husband, making it hard to realize just how many of us share those genes. Wish we acted more like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] musicians in South Eastern Pennsylvania. You’ve heard me refer to my “brother,” Buddy Cash, who plays with several different line ups, giving me the opportunity to hear an array of […]

    Like

What are your thoughts?

