Carrying on

We all have bad days. Sometimes several. The measure of our faith is how we handle them.

Right now I’m tired. Fatigued. Weary.

I try to look beyond the present. I try to look beyond my immediate position in the physical world. I’ve been here before, things get better, things get worse, the physical world is finite but my soul is not.

I reflect upon 2 Corinthians, chapter 4,“15 For all things are for your sakes, that the abundant grace might through the thanksgiving of many redound to the glory of God.16 For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day.17 For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;18 While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

My outward man is worn, leaning upon my inner man to get through the day. It is comforting to have such refuge, and it is very tempting to permanently retreat to this refuge. But it’s way too quiet in there.

So if I am a little slow at times, consider that I am resting. I spend a great deal of time in research, both searching and digesting information, and measuring public responses through various social media outlets. Most days, it is like standing in the rain, some days it can be like standing naked in a sand storm.

Sometimes a quiet voice says more than thunder. I need to work on my quiet voice today. So I’ll be experimenting with a new tamale recipe, creating a balance of flavors and textures that I hope will be appealing and satisfying for my guests this evening.

 

One comment on “Carrying on

  1. mike r says:

    Tamales might be just the cure. I am reminded that redemption does not depend on our efforts or emotions. Even the faith that we have in Christ is implanted in us by God. I struggle with depression more than I like but am convinced that is a painful but effective tool that God is using to mold me into something that resembles him more than I do now. If I fully believed in that truth as to the depth and content of the love God I would never know depression. Let us long for that day in which there will be no tear or sadness.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

