Cancer

Bad things happen. Bad things happen randomly, to good people and bad people, we just don’t care as much when it’s a bad person.

A friend posted on Face Book the other day, “I’m in the hospital, they found a mass in my brain, details later”. He didn’t communicate after that but another friend passed on messages. A large tumor, pressing on the optic nerve. Radiation and chemo first, brain surgery is tricky.

There are things you don’t have to be told. This is bound to affect his vision, and if it is as large as described it’s going to have far reaching effects. Nobody talks about the dark “what if?”s. He’s a genuinely good man, and from what little I have heard is handling this well.

Why does it happen? Because it happens. Illness is not a punishment, no one lives as long as they want to. It is the good people who we mourn, they have so much more good to do in this sad world. There is enough pain, we don’t miss the bad people.

There are times we feel frustrated, we cry that life isn’t fair. It most certainly is. Tragedy is equally distributed without regard for any other factors. Our measure is how we respond. It is my opinion that this is when we may display our grace. This is more than just making lemonade from the lemons life throws at us, This is an opportunity to inspire others. Because surviving tragedy is just as evenly distributed, humbleness and gratitude for the ability to continue are the proper responses.

We must make the most of every moment, we have no idea how many moments we have.

 

This is a short entry, despite my positive and realistic outlook, I am still dumbfounded by this situation, and need to rest my consciousness for a bit.

4 comments on “Cancer

  1. So sorry when a good person has to experience such a possible conclusion. I pray that all have a positive outcome.

    Like

  2. Mari Collier says:

    My sympathies and prayers for your friend. Their is sickness and death in this world. As you said, it is random just as it rains on good produce and invasive weeds. It happens. It is best to enjoy the beauties that are around you.

    Like

  3. Mike Reith says:

    I value honest people like you, Blake. And I hope that you are finding some peace over your friend although I am not sure there is any real peace on this side of our trials. It takes so much time for me to move on even after a death. My dear 88- years-old mother just discovered that she has a mass in her colon. As an old nurse she accepts the realities of what may take a few weeks to confirm. She calmly told me that she is resting in The Lord and has already decided against chemo although she will accept surgery. She stated that she hopes to make it to 100 which some her relatives have. She doesn’t wish to spend those years in poor health, however.

    I love life waiting for the boulder that is chasing me down the mountain to run me over because that is what happens to all of us many times in our time here. Born with a genetic depressive disorder, I have had to accept that it is OK for the sovereign God made me this way for a purpose .

    A few glasses of whiskey and a cigar allows me to appreciate the moment, laugh and think of good memories. Inside I know that the only truth worth holding onto is that existence on this world became thus way because of the events in Genesis, Chapter 3 and that love forces me to concede that there is far more than this world which is a world that fights against love.

    Time for another whiskey or maybe even a Blake martini.

    Like

  4. kblakecash says:

    Dumbfounded once again, Bernard finished his journey in this world yesterday. Ups and downs along the way, he remained positive to the last

    Like

What are your thoughts?

