Eggplant Chili

It seems like everything with Eggplant is compared to ratatouille. In fact, ratatouille has very little in common with the popular dish called by that name (which is more properly referred to as ratatouille niçoise). Anyway, it is how a dish is put together and spiced that makes it what it is, and most important is what the chef calls it. I was looking in the fridge the other day and texted Lieve that I was making Eggplant Chile.

I was at a technical school in California once, and the only attendee of Mexican origin was from Oklahoma. Everyone wanted to try “Mexican” food while we were there, but had no idea what the various dishes were. He said, “Tomatoes, Cheese, Beans, Meat, and Tortillas, just mixed up in different ways”. Maybe a little too simplistic, but I got his message. It’s all the same basic ingredients, it’s the preparation and presentation that makes the dishes different.

So I took two medium eggplants and cubed them. In a large dutch oven I heated a couple of teaspoons of olive oil, then sauteed about two ounces of diced ginger and maybe six crushed cloves of garlic. To this I added one large chopped Vidalia onion, and sauteed until the onion was transparent. I added two chopped red peppers and cooked for a few minutes, then I added the eggplant.

I reduced the heat a little, stirring the eggplant every few minutes, while I chopped about eight ounces of white mushrooms and two or three ounces of Medina olives. I added about two tablespoons of chili powder, another tablespoon of dry basil, two teaspoons of dry mustard, and maybe a teaspoon of cumin seed, stirred everything together and added the mushrooms and olives. Then I chopped a bunch of cilantro, maybe a cup, and added that.

I covered it and dropped the heat to the point it just bubbled here and there, and left it for about an hour. when I came back there was a little too much fluid, so I left it uncovered and stirred it occasionally while I made some wild rice.

viola

Only Emily Litella understands this

Wonderful fall meal.

Ingredient list:

1) reasonably stocked kitchen.

So now you understand why I don’t often share recipes. I don’t write this stuff down or measure, I just cook. I will share my Martini recipe, it’s very precise. You will need a proper shaker and glass.

Ingredients:

Grey Goose Vodka

Dry Vermouth

Ice cubes

Olives

Tooth picks

Fill shaker with ice cubes. Add one ounce vermouth. Shake well while singing the Jeopardy theme.

Pour cold vermouth down the drain.

Place three olives on a toothpick, place toothpick in Martini glass.

Pour four ounces of vodka into shaker. Shake well while counting to fifty three by prime numbers. 

Pour cold vodka into glass.

Perfect Martini. Precision is important at times.

2 comments on “Eggplant Chili

  1. Mike Reith says:

    When I was a young airman going through technical school in Biloxi, Mississippi, I remember The White Pillar Restaurant with the following dish it was know for:
    Here’s the Eggplant Josephine recipe, courtesy of The Commercial Appeal.

    Eggplant Josephine

    1 large eggplant

    2 tbsp. flour

    Olive oil, to saute

    1 pkg. (8 oz.) mozzarella cheese, shredded

    1 jar (26 oz.) Italian meat sauce

    Crab meat topping:

    1 lb. crab meat

    1/4 cup butter

    1/2 cup Sauterne wine

    Hollandaise sauce:

    2 egg yolks

    2 cups mayonnaise

    1/2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

    2 tbsp. dry mustard

    Salt, white pepper to taste

    Peel eggplant and slice about 3/4 – to 1-inch thick. Flour and saute in olive oil until slightly brown. Set aside.

    To make crab meat topping: Melt 1/4 cup butter and add wine. Add crab meat and simmer about six minutes. Set aside.

    To make Hollandaise sauce: Beat 2 egg yolks until frothy. Blend in mayonnaise and add Worcestershire. Add salt, white pepper and dry mustard.

    When ready to bake, lay one layer of eggplant slices in shallow pan. Cover with a layer of crab meat, a layer of meat sauce and a layer of shredded cheese.

    Bake at 450 degrees until cheese is melted, bubbly and begins to brown. Serve with heated Hollandaise on each slice.

    You can also refer to http://www.folo.us/2008/07/06/sunday-dinnah-at-white-pillars-or-in-your-backyard/ .

    Like

What are your thoughts?

