God’s voice

This one is short, mostly homework (reflection, I don’t do tests). It is popularly stated that people who talk to God only need to worry about it when he speaks back. I would worry if he didn’t.

God speaks to all of us. Sometimes he whispers, sometimes he shouts, and most of the time, no one is listening.

Part of the issue is recognizing God’s voice. Very, very rarely, your rhododendron will burst into flames, accompanied by a booming voice that is not directing you to call the fire department. The overwhelming number of times, you’ll need to pay a little closer attention.

God is unlikely to tap you on the shoulder. He tends to come across on all frequencies. By that, I mean you will hear him in several different ways, a synchronicity. A snippet of a song, a piece of an overheard conversation, a sign on a bus, a series of unrelated events with a common thread. Finally, you take note. Do you laugh, mention it to a friend? Or do you think “Perhaps there’s something there“?

Maybe you remember that God is present in all things (you know, having created them). You may remember Romans 8:28, “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose”.

Here is the hard part. You are part of “all things”. Sometimes the message, after making it all the way into your conscious mind, is not what you want. The “good” may not be your immediate good, but it is God’s good. Follow God’s word, everything is connected, any good is good for you. Sometimes, you are supposed to be part of a message for someone that you don’t even know.

Perhaps this article has been part of God’s message to you for today, either in the immediate sense, or for you to contemplate later.

Now get out there and enjoy the day, be a part of it in every way!

6 comments on “God’s voice

  1. Maybe you remember that God is present in all things……………..

    Like

  2. joedalio says:

    Thanks for these excellent words! We are indeed connected to all things. That’s why it’s best to give your best to others, because in essence, you are building up yourself. it goes the other way too. I look forward to being a part of this wonderful day. Blessings to you as well : )

    Like

  3. The Desert Rocks says:

    I like the way you explained it KB. Best to you!

    Like

  4. Mike R says:

    Like it all and particularly the last paragraph, and what it implies. God’s good is good beyond anything our own moral sense can fathom. Being finite creatures, we are made in God’s image. God’s goodness is reflected in nature sufficiently that no man has an excuse for denying his existence. Yet the eyes and mind of the creature do not have the infinite range of colors and degrees of resolution that the Creator composed his creation in and of. I am a creature of time and see good as happening here and now and with its evidence being the absence of discomfort and suffering, admittedly a very limited understanding.

    God is the only being who has inhabited eternity; he exists outside of time. Can I grasp this? No, not in its fullness. Can I comprehend sufficiently God’s definition of good and evil to rest peacefully in his truth? No. My attempts, at best, are not unlike taking a visual test for color blindness–you know, the pages of images of various colored dots. If you have correct color vision you will see an image of various numbers within in the image of dots. But, spiritually, I am like the color blind person who stares at the collection of dots and sees nothing but dots.

    Faith is believing God when he says that there really are numbers visible in the images. Faith is seeing enough of God in his creation that you believe his promises for things you cannot see. Faith is experiencing the trials of life and suffering hardship, pain, illness, and evil and believing that there is a truth of goodness that lies behind what we experience.

    “If only God would show me a miracle . . .show me something that cannot occur in my normal world, I would believe him forever,” I often think. Life’s experiences suggest that this is not so–after the passing of the miracle, when all that is seen is non-miraculous, doubt intrudes. Jesus Christ taught of the greater faith of those who “believe without seeing.”

    I must be careful not to confuse my belief in him, and my true hope for eternal life, with the “hope” of chance, that hope that a desired outcome might occur in the future. This is not faith, but merely a wish that fate will smile upon me. God is not a “might.” His character never changes and his word always is fulfilled. He has told me that even thought i have no faith of my own, he has given me the faith to believe and that he is preparing for me a grand residence with him in heaven. He has promised that he has paid for my sins with his own blood and suffering. He has promised that he will raise me up from the dead, adorn me with a glorified body and removed all tears and pain and sorrow from my future.

    Like

    • kblakecash says:

      Mike,

      When you use the quote, “If only God would show me a miracle”, the first thing in my mind is that he already has. WE are miracles, life itself is a miracle, all of creation is a miracle. But some folks are still waiting for the flaming forsythia.

      Like

      • Mike R says:

        True, indeed. The evidence of God’s character is there, just waiting to announced itself. When I consider the way that my own daily experiences defy probability and statistics, I have to conclude that a supernatural force is at work. When I see beauty, and I am not referring to a human physical beauty alone, such that my emotions are moved I can only conclude that it is of God.

        Lately I’ve been spending about half of my days in the mountains, alone. It is disturbing but helpful to find out how much I have been living within a shell of perceived safety, surrounded by civilization. I recall having to recently walk an unused primitive road one moonless night, without a flashlight. I was aware of my state of helplessness should I encounter a bear or mountain lion (both of which are highly unlikely and if they occurred would most likely result in that animal fleeing). I found myself praying and confessing my lack of faith in God’s provision, in thinking that facing a wild animal at night would be any less within the will and provision and sovereignty of God than sitting at home and reading a book.

        I found myself walking with my hand on my pistol, a silly posture as I was as blind as a bat and could only deduce the road by a break in the tree cover. It did not suffice to ease my fear. Soon I was walking with the pistol in my hand, ready for action. How reflective of my lack of faith and closeness with my Lord! Was not God in control of my every breath? Was he not in control of every living and nonliving thing around me?

        That experience is not important because of the scenario, but because of the lesson involved. Were I a hardened man of the woods I would have been guilty, perhaps, of trekking along secure in myself without even thinking of God. As it were, a moonless night walking through wild animal country was enough to teach of my smallness and God’s greatness. A “flaming forsythia” moment is not needed if we will confess our need to find God and enjoy him.

        Like

What are your thoughts?

