42

I started off several hours ago with the idea of writing about life, the universe and everything. That got a little complex, so the draft will remain in the polishing bin and I’ll give you the short version.

Albert Einstein said “Everything should be as simple as possible, but not simpler”. He also said “If you can’t explain it to a six year old, you don’t understand it yourself”. The correlation being that everything should be simple enough for a six year old to understand. If he had not had such faith in humankind, would he have been able to live with the creation of nuclear weapons?

One of the things I really dig about that video is that it shows some great minds without the veneer of greatness. They are, as we are, human beings. Feynman loved the bongos, and Neil deGrasse Tyson really is that edgy. His line at 2:10 echoes within me.

We are all connected. Whether you approach creation from Genesis or a Humanistic view, in the beginning there was a void. Then, either by God’s command or a quantum vacuum fluctuation, there was light. Big light. Big Bang. Everything that is, every particle in the universe, was created in that instant. Following the principle of Quantum Entanglement, any particles that interact are connected, so everything is connected to everything.

That may be too simple, in that it applies to molecular size objects and not larger objects. Or maybe not. I am connected to every person that I have spoken to, and they are connected to me. The relationships and experiences we have cause us to be us. There is a layer of reality, a veneer, called “Maya” in Hinduism. It is the illusion of reality, what we see instead of reality. Maya is why we see solid objects rather than a collection of molecules, which are predominantly empty space. Maya is the fabric of reality, the Emperor’s clothes. We see what we want to see, or more precisely, we see what we are capable of comprehending. A simple illustration of the distortion of our actual vision, what we see with our eyes, is to but on a pair of coloured lenses. After a few minutes, you can see normal colors again, take the lenses off, and the “filter” that your mind was using to balance the lenses will tint the world to the opposite side of the colour wheel for a few minutes, until your brain realizes that you no longer are wearing lenses.

There is the psychological side of that, or synchronicity, our inability to see connections. There is also the physical side, our eyes contain thousands of sensory cells, some see light (black and white) others see colours. When I look out the window, I don’t see a collection of data points, red, grey, blue, black, green, grey. I see flowers and trees and sky and clouds. I may not have the same sensations that you have, but my sensation of what I call “Blue sky” is the same every time I see a blue sky. So is yours. So even though our sensations are different, the sky is the same, so we both call it a “Blue sky”.

My last wife believed she was psychic. I do to, but not to the extent that she did. She was able to interpret something, some connection between the particles that are entangled, and was right in her interpretations far more often than she was wrong. Except when buying lottery tickets. It wasn’t something she could control, it just happened.

I believe that we are connected to each other, and to everything in the universe. Explaining that in a clear manner, simple enough for a six year old to understand, with references and footnotes, is going to take longer than one day, but we can start here.

E = mc^2 \,\!

Energy equals mass at a ratio of the speed of light. Neither energy or mass can be created or destroyed, they just change into the other form. All that exists has always existed. We are stardust, we are golden, we are billion year old carbon.

simple enough, or too simple?

3 comments on “42

  1. Shelly says:

    I pretty much believe the sAme thing. Good post!

    Hugs and chocolate,
    Shellu

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How’s this for connected: I am a retired science educator (MIddle School level). I have no one to talk science with- until you stopped by my site to correct my grammar (thank you) and I followed you back here and here you are and you LOVE science and now I have someone to fill that hole for me. Oh, this is going to be FUN!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

